A British soldier remembers Trieste in 1946

Regole del forum
Collegamenti al regolamento del forum in varie lingue ed alle norme sulla privacy in italiano.
Ron
ixolan
ixolan

Messaggio da Ron »

Hi to all, but in particular to Maria

I found this site purely by chance and was fascinated to read my name and that of my unit.

To explain.

As a British soldier, serving in the 4th Queen's Own Hussars I found myself in the Trieste area in between October 1945 and January 1947.

As a contributor to the British BBC WW2 Archives I have posted many stories and photos of those days and now that I have found this site I will probably find the occasion to bore you with my memories.

I am waiting for Maria to remind me of the circumstances under which we both attended this wonderful performance of Carmen.

I have no doubt that more will follow :)

Auguri

Ron

As a British soldier, I was stationed in the Trieste area from October 1945 until January 1947
macondo
Distinto
Distinto

Messaggio da macondo »

Welcome to our Forum, Ron.

You will be surprised that a good friend of us, and an enthusiastic participant of this very same Forum, had been serving in Trieste about the same period of yours. His name is Thomas H. Southgate aka Larry and he is from the Manchester area. He also travelled in 2004 to Trieste with a pretty large group of former servicemen from the UK. I understand this trip was organised by the BETFOR Association:

http://www.milhist.net/betfor/index.html

A couple of years ago, I made some research about the role of the 4th Queen's Own Hussars on the capture of the notorious SS General Odilo Globocnik that ended with his suicide on Paternion, Austria.
It is briefly mentioned here:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Odilo_Globocnik

Well Ron. We (speaking also on behalf of our fellow forumists :-D ) hope you are going to 'visit' us quite often...

PS I am always very surprised how Maria can remember so well facts and names from 60 years ago...