Opicina 1946/47

Regole del forum
Collegamenti al regolamento del forum in varie lingue ed alle norme sulla privacy in italiano.
BillsSon
naufrago
naufrago

Opicina 1946/47

Messaggio da BillsSon »

Hello everyone. This is my first post so let me know any advice that may help me with posts in future. I was in Opicina in 1946/47. Given I was born in 1943 I remember so little. My Dad William (Bill or Billy) Andrew was in the 1st Royal Sussex Regt. at the time, he was from Darlington England and had been in the Hampshires (1/4) in Italy & North Africa prior to Trieste. I have a faded photograph of "our bungalow"in Opicina where Dad, Mum and I lived and a photograph of Dad in uniform heading down steps at the Excelsior Hotel, Venice Lido in 1946. Unfortunately both Mum and Dad are deceased and Dad was so adamant that he did not want to talk about his experiences I have little knowledge of him and where he was and what things were like.
Mum did occasionally mention parties at the bungalow, or me talking to an American General in St. Mark's Venice and telling him "my Grandad would shoot all these pigeons if he was here"! (just as well he wasn't!)
I don't expect the miracle that someone might have known him but I would like to hear from those that were in Trieste/Opicina in 1946/47.This would help me understand the times a lot better.
Thank you,
Les
Allegati
Opicina house with Bill, Mollie and Leslie Andrew
Opicina house with Bill, Mollie and Leslie Andrew

serlilian
distinto
distinto

Messaggio da serlilian »

Hi BillsSon and welcome.
There are some British and American soldiers, writing here, that were in Triest in that period of time and I hope they will be able to help you.
Do you have any other photo to post?
I was born in 1948, in the Free Territory of Triest, and I like to know something more about it.
In June some Britishmen will come back to Triest, with Larry, and I hope to meet them.
Where do you live?
:ciao:

[i]Liliana[/i]
- . - . -